User Tools

Site Tools


techstaff:desktop_upgrade

Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

techstaff:desktop_upgrade [2019/12/30 16:11]
rdb created
techstaff:desktop_upgrade [2019/12/31 10:42] (current)
rdb
Line 12: Line 12:
 The desktops will have two management roles: The desktops will have two management roles:
   * Managed by Techstaff: Techstaff installs, configures, and maintains the operating system.   * Managed by Techstaff: Techstaff installs, configures, and maintains the operating system.
-  * Self-managed: ​ The student will be given a new desktop and will be responsible for configuring,​ building, and maintaining their own operating system. ​ Each system will require that a techstaff account will be created with sudo privilege for the purpose of being able to inventory the system and in case of a security incident or problem that requires immediate action to prevent problems for others on the network.+  * Self-managed: ​ The student will be given a new desktop and will be responsible for configuring,​ building, and maintaining their own operating system. ​ Each system will **require that a ''​techstaff'' ​account will be created with sudo privilege** for the purpose of being able to inventory the system and in case of a security incident or problem that requires immediate action to prevent problems for others on the network.
  
 +===== Desktop installation =====
 +Techstaff wants to replace these systems as soon as is convenient for the students.  ​
 +
 +  * Please fill out [[ https://​forms.gle/​zKDYpY3dDVN2Kvav9 | the desktop form ]].  A number of you have already done so, but there are additional questions regarding date of replacement,​ whether you have files that you need on your old computer, and whether you run services that will need to be accessible off campus. ​ If the date is problematic for some reason, Techstaff will contact you about an adjustment.
 +  * Your current desktop will be replaced with a new desktop, keyboard, mouse, and 27" 4K monitor. ​ Your current system will be turned off and removed.  ​
 +  * If you have files on the computer, we will move the computer to the machine room and turn it on.  The system will be available at your current IP address for 30 days to allow you to copy files that you require to your new system. ​ After that time, the system will be turned off.  ​
  
/var/lib/dokuwiki/data/pages/techstaff/desktop_upgrade.txt ยท Last modified: 2019/12/31 10:42 by rdb